Guide Southern California

Snowbird RV Parks and Resorts in Southern California: 2026–27 Winter Rates and Where to Stay

Where snowbirds winter in Southern California by RV: published 2026–27 monthly rates from Desert Hot Springs, Borrego, the Salton Sea, San Diego's Mission Bay and the Colorado River, plus the stay limits, metered electric and festival weekends that shape a desert winter.

Marisol Reyes
Camping & Outdoors Editor
24 min read
Snowbird RV Parks and Resorts in Southern California: 2026–27 Winter Rates and Where to Stay

Southern California is the smallest of the big snowbird regions and the most varied. In one winter you can soak in a Desert Hot Springs mineral pool, drive a golf cart around Borrego Springs, park beside the Salton Sea for six months, spend a month on Mission Bay in San Diego, or boondock on BLM land by the Colorado River for $180 a season. What the region lacks is cheap coastal winter camping. The beach parks with real monthly rates are in San Diego, and they cost about twice as much as the desert.

This guide is built around published 2026–27 rates. Every park below was checked on its own site or official agency page on October 26, 2026. Where a resort quotes only through a booking engine or a request form, which includes several of the big Coachella Valley names, we say so rather than guess. We also cover the rules that decide where a long stay is possible at all: state-park stay limits, Riverside County’s 14-day cap, BLM permits and the April festival weekends in Indio.

For the general picture, see our Southern California RV parks guide, which covers the coast and mountains as well as the desert, and our detailed Palm Springs RV resorts comparison. For how SoCal compares with Arizona, Florida and Texas, see the national snowbird RV parks guide.

Quick answer: The cheapest published snowbird rents in Southern California are on the edges of the region: $525 a month plus electric at Needles Marina Resort on the Colorado River, and $805 plus electric at Sam’s Family Spa in Desert Hot Springs. Sky Valley Resort publishes $940–$1,648 for 30 nights in January–March. Fountain of Youth Spa near the Salton Sea (55+) sells six months for $4,950 plus electric. On the coast, Campland on the Bay starts at $1,691 a month and Santee Lakes at $1,300 for 30 nights (November–March). Self-contained rigs can winter on BLM land near Winterhaven or Blythe for $180 a season. Electricity is extra almost everywhere on monthly stays.

The 2026–27 season: where things stand in late October#

  • The desert season is starting. Desert Hot Springs, Palm Desert, Indio and Borrego fill from November, and January to March is the peak. Sky Valley prices January–March higher than the rest of the year, and The Springs at Borrego treats January 15 to May 14 as its high season.
  • April is festival month in Indio. Coachella runs April 9–11 and April 16–18, 2027, and Stagecoach April 23–25, 2027, at the Empire Polo Club. If your stay runs past March, check how the resort prices those weekends.
  • Several big Coachella Valley resorts do not publish monthly rates. Emerald Desert takes requests through a form, Indian Wells publishes only its annual rate, and Thousand Trails Palm Springs publishes only an annual site price. Get written quotes for the same dates.
  • Some public options are closed or limited. At the Salton Sea State Recreation Area, Mecca Beach and Bombay Beach campgrounds are closed. Needles Marina Resort says only sites 2–112 are available this winter because of construction.

Southern California snowbird RV rates, 2026–27#

Published monthly or long-stay rates as shown on October 26, 2026. “From” is the lowest site class. Taxes and electricity are extra unless noted.

ParkAreaMonthly or long-stay rateElectricAge policy
Sky Valley ResortDesert Hot Springs30 nights $940–$1,648 (Jan–Mar); $871–$1,487 (Apr–Dec); 5–15% off 2–4+ monthsMetered on monthlyNot stated
Sam’s Family SpaDesert Hot SpringsFrom $805/moExtraFamily / all ages
Indian Wells RV Community (Sun Outdoors)IndioAnnual from $954/mo; seasonal quoted liveNot included in annual feeAll ages
Thousand Trails Palm SpringsPalm DesertAnnual from $9,000; monthly not publishedUtilities may be billed monthlyNot stated
Emerald Desert RV ResortPalm DesertNightly from $139; monthly by requestAskNot stated
Outdoor Resort Palm SpringsCathedral CityOwner listings about $1,400–$3,900/mo, plus $25/day resort feeMetered 50 ampOwner rules
The Springs at BorregoBorrego SpringsNightly from $53; monthly by requestMetered on 7+ nightsNot stated
Fountain of Youth SpaNiland (Salton Sea)$1,050/mo regular site; 3 months $2,800; 6 months $4,950Extra55+
Needles Marina ResortNeedles$525/mo winter (Oct 1–May 1)$0.14/kWh plus $38.28 meter-read chargeAll ages
Campland on the BaySan Diego$1,691–$4,446/mo (Sept 8–June 30); 65+ from $1,536Full hookupsAll ages
Mission Bay RV ResortSan Diego$1,550–$2,530/mo (Sept 8–June 30)AskAll ages
Santee Lakes Recreation PreserveSantee30 nights $1,300–$1,700 (Nov–Mar)$175 electric depositAll ages
BLM LTVAs (Imperial Dam, Pilot Knob, Midland)Winterhaven, Blythe$180 Sept 15–Apr 15No hookupsAll ages

The weather: what a desert winter feels like#

NOAA’s 1991–2020 normals for January:

StationJanuary average highJanuary average low
Palm Springs70.6°F47.2°F
Thermal (east Coachella Valley, near Indio)71.0°F39.0°F
Borrego Desert Park69.7°F45.5°F
El Centro71.0°F43.4°F
Blythe68.2°F43.2°F
San Diego (Lindbergh Field)66.4°F50.3°F

Afternoons across the desert are about 70°F, but nights are cold, especially on the valley floor: Thermal’s average January low is 39°F. Plan on running a furnace or electric heater most nights, which is where metered electric adds up. San Diego is a few degrees cooler in the afternoon and much milder at night. All of these places turn very hot from late spring, which is why desert monthly rates drop sharply from May.

Coachella Valley: Palm Springs, Desert Hot Springs, Palm Desert and Indio#

The Coachella Valley has more resort-grade RV parks than anywhere else in Southern California. It splits into two kinds of stay: the mineral-water resorts of Desert Hot Springs, on the north side of I-10, which publish clear monthly rates, and the big resorts and ownership clubs of Palm Desert, Cathedral City and Indio, which mostly quote live.

Sky Valley Resort — Desert Hot Springs#

Sky Valley is a hot-mineral-water resort in the hills east of Desert Hot Springs, and it publishes one of the clearest rate tables in the valley.

  • Hookups: Full hookups; four site classes (Value, Standard, Deluxe, Elite). Value sites are for “small RVs and trailers only”
  • Cost: Rates effective May 1, 2026 through April 30, 2027. 30 nights in January–March: Value $940, Standard $1,112, Deluxe $1,285, Elite $1,648. 30 nights April–December: $871, $952, $1,125, $1,487. Nightly in January–March from $65 (Value) to $95 (Elite). Multi-month bookings save 5% (two months), 10% (three) or 15% (four or more), by phone
  • Electric: “Monthly rates do not include electricity”; metered on the monthly rate
  • Amenities: Natural hot mineral pools and spas, fitness rooms, tennis and pickleball
  • Reservations: Direct, (760) 329-2900
  • Best for: Snowbirds who want to soak every day and know the price in advance

Three Standard months in January–March plus April, with the 15% four-month discount, comes to about $3,645 before electricity and tax by our arithmetic ($1,112 × 3 + $952, less 15%). Confirm the discount applies to your dates when you book. Our Palm Springs RV resorts guide compares Sky Valley with its 55+ neighbor, Caliente Springs.

Sam’s Family Spa — Desert Hot Springs#

Sam’s is the family-friendly mineral-water option. It is all-ages, with hot mineral pools, and its rates are among the lowest published in the valley.

  • Hookups: Full-hookup RV sites
  • Cost: Daily from $85, weekly from $519, monthly from $805 plus electric
  • Rig rules: “15-year age limit on RVs for stays longer than 30 days”
  • Pets: Dogs and cats allowed
  • Best for: Families, mixed-age couples and anyone whose rig is under 15 years old

The RV-age rule matters: an older rig that would be welcome for a weekend is not eligible for a monthly stay.

Emerald Desert RV Resort — Palm Desert#

Emerald Desert, run by Sunland RV Resorts, is the valley’s polished full-service resort. It has six site classes with published fit ranges up to 65 feet, two heated pools, a hot tub and eight pickleball courts. We cover it in detail in our Emerald Desert RV Resort review and on its park page.

  • Hookups: Full, 30/50 amp, cable and Wi-Fi
  • Cost: “RV site from $139/night”; monthly and seasonal rates by request form, and a 2027 rates form signs you up for early-bird notice
  • Pets: “We limit guests to two pets per site”
  • Festival note: Advertises Stagecoach Weekend, April 23–25, 2027
  • Best for: Big rigs and snowbirds who want resort amenities and will request a quote early

Indian Wells RV Community — Indio (Sun Outdoors)#

  • Hookups: Full, 20/30/50 amp; paved pads up to 45 feet
  • Sites: More than 300 (premium, pull-through and standard)
  • Age and pets: “All ages resort, pets allowed,” open year-round
  • Cost: “Annual RV sites start at $954 per month with an annual agreement,” with water, sewer and cable included and electric not included. Nightly and seasonal rates are quoted in the booking engine; military guests get $200 off seasonal or annual stays
  • Best for: Snowbirds considering a year-round base, and rigs up to 45 feet

Thousand Trails Palm Springs RV Resort — Palm Desert#

  • Sites: 401; “no membership needed to book”
  • Cost: Annual sites from $9,000; $500 deposit on monthly and annual reservations; taxes, fees and utilities “may be billed monthly.” Monthly winter rates are not published
  • Best for: Thousand Trails members, and snowbirds comparing an annual site with a season of monthly rent

If you already hold a Thousand Trails pass, read our Thousand Trails membership guide for how long stays fit around its rules.

Outdoor Resort Palm Springs and Motorcoach Country Club — the ownership resorts#

These two are the luxury end of the valley. In both, you rent a privately owned lot rather than book from a single price list.

  • Outdoor Resort Palm Springs (Cathedral City): 1,213 owner lots with metered 50-amp service. Renters pay a mandatory $25 per day per lot resort fee. RVs must be no more than 15 years old and at least 24 feet, sites are back-in only, and truck campers, van and bus conversions, park models and destination trailers are not allowed. The owner listings we saw ran about $1,400 to $3,900 a month, with electricity, the resort fee and cleaning fees on top in at least one listing.
  • Motorcoach Country Club (Indio): Class A motorcoaches only. Guest stays are booked for 2–31 nights at an all-inclusive nightly rate, and “qualifying 31-night stays are not subject to occupancy tax.” Rates are in the booking engine only.

For a full winter, Outdoor Resort’s resort fee alone is about $750 a month. Include it when you compare.

Lake Cahuilla Veterans Regional Park — La Quinta#

Riverside County’s lakeside park has 62 hookup sites at $30–$50 a night, but a maximum stay of 14 days within a 28-day period. It works as a two-week stop or a break between resort months, not as a winter base.

Field tip: In the Coachella Valley, the mineral-water parks in Desert Hot Springs publish their prices, and the big resorts down-valley mostly do not. Get written monthly quotes from two or three of each for the same dates, then add electricity and any daily resort fee. The numbers end up closer than the brochures suggest.

Borrego Springs and Anza-Borrego#

Borrego Springs is a small, quiet town surrounded by California’s largest state park, Anza-Borrego. It is a long drive to Costco, and there is little to do at night except look at the stars. That is the reason snowbirds who come here keep coming back. Our California desert stargazing RV guide covers the dark-sky side.

The Springs at Borrego RV Resort & Golf Course#

  • Hookups: 30/50 amp full hookups; dry-camping lot also available
  • Sites: “160 spacious RV sites”; pull-throughs “built to accommodate RVs up to 80 feet long”
  • Cost: Nightly from $53 (Resort pull-through or dry camping) to $64.90 (Premium corner, pull-through or back-in) and $90.64 (Fairway). Monthly rates by request form
  • Electric: Metered on stays of seven nights or more
  • Booking terms: High season runs January 15 to May 14, when daily and weekly stays are paid in full at booking. Monthly stays require a one-month deposit, forfeited if you cancel within 45 days of arrival
  • Pets: Allowed; dog park
  • Best for: Golfers and big rigs who want a small-town desert winter

Borrego Palm Canyon Campground — Anza-Borrego Desert State Park#

The state park’s main campground has full-hookup sites within walking distance of the Borrego Palm Canyon trailhead. See its park page.

  • Cost: Hookup sites $45 a night ($43 for seniors 62+); tent sites $35; extra vehicle $10
  • Reservations: Taken for October 1 through April 30, up to six months ahead on ReserveCalifornia
  • Stay limit: 30 days per calendar year across the whole park, backcountry included
  • Rules: 8 people and 2 vehicles per site; generators 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.; dogs allowed in campgrounds. The dump station ($10) closes June 1 to September 30
  • Best for: A month of desert hiking and wildflower season inside the park, not a full winter

Agua Caliente County Park#

San Diego County’s hot-springs campground, south of Borrego off County Road S2, is open from Labor Day weekend to Memorial Day.

  • Cost: 2026 fees (effective January 2, 2026): full hookup $42 a night, partial hookup $39, tent $33; $8 reservation fee
  • Pets: Two dogs included per site, then $2 per extra dog per night
  • Best for: A week or two of hot-pool soaking. We could not confirm its maximum stay, so check before planning a month

Imperial Valley, the Salton Sea and the Winterhaven LTVAs#

The southeastern corner of the state, from the Salton Sea down through El Centro to the Colorado River at Winterhaven, is the budget end of Southern California snowbirding. It is agricultural, remote and hot by March. It also has the region’s cheapest long stays.

Fountain of Youth Spa RV Resort — Niland#

On the east side of the Salton Sea, Fountain of Youth is a 55+ active-adult community with mineral pools, steam rooms and dog parks. Its rates page is unusually complete.

  • Hookups: Full, 30/50 amp, with cable on regular sites; dry-camp areas also available
  • Cost: Regular full-hookup site $75 a day, $430 a week, $1,050 a month plus utilities; patio site $80, $480 and $1,200 plus electricity; pull-through $90 a day
  • Seasonal specials (regular full-hookup sites): Fall special (September 1–December 31, 2026) $1,200 plus electricity; 3 months $2,800; 4 months $3,600; 6 months $4,950, usable for any six consecutive months ending by August 31, 2027. All plus electricity, paid in full at booking, non-refundable
  • Electric: Included on daily and weekly stays; “Electric is metered for monthly rentals”
  • Best for: 55+ snowbirds who want the lowest published half-season price in Southern California and do not mind the Salton Sea’s isolation

At $4,950 for six months, the lot rent works out to $825 a month. The non-refundable, pay-in-full terms are the catch.

Rio Bend RV & Golf Resort — El Centro#

Rio Bend is a golf-course RV resort west of El Centro. It publishes an annual site rate of $4,000, along with daily, weekly and monthly prices, but the labels on its rate page do not line up clearly with the figures. Call the resort at (800) 545-6481 for the winter monthly price, and check its specials page for current multi-month offers.

Salton Sea State Recreation Area#

  • Cost: Full or partial hookup sites $30 a night ($2 off for seniors 62+); extra vehicle $7
  • Max trailer: 35 feet
  • Status: The main campground is open. Mecca Beach Campground is closed for maintenance repairs, and Bombay Beach Campground is closed
  • Stay limit: State park rules allow 30 days per calendar year in a park unit

BLM long-term visitor areas: Imperial Dam, Pilot Knob and Midland#

For self-contained rigs, the BLM’s long-term visitor areas (LTVAs) are the cheapest winter in Southern California, just as they are across the river in Arizona.

  • Imperial Dam LTVA (north of Winterhaven): a $180 long-term permit covers September 15 to April 15; a $40 short-visit permit covers 14 consecutive days. Facilities include restrooms, outdoor showers, and grey- and black-water dumps with water
  • Pilot Knob LTVA (west of Winterhaven): $180 for the September 15–April 15 season, $80 for four weeks, $40 for two weeks; 14-day camping is free April 16–September 14
  • Midland LTVA (north of Blythe): $180 season, $40 short visit; units “must be 100% self-contained,” and a unit cannot be left unoccupied for more than five days

BLM has proposed raising LTVA fees (the Yuma plan floated $600 for a season and $200 for 14 days), and its pages still show $180 and $40 without a season year. Confirm the current fee before you arrive. Our Yuma RV parks guide and Quartzsite RV parks guide cover the Arizona-side LTVAs and the hookup parks nearby, and our BLM camping guide explains the permit system.

Algodones dental trips: the border caveat#

Snowbirds in Winterhaven and Yuma often cross at Andrade, California, into Los Algodones, Baja California, for dental work and eyeglasses. The CBP Andrade port of entry lists office hours of 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. daily. The US State Department rates Baja California at Level 3, Reconsider Travel (Mexico advisory issued May 29, 2026). If you go, carry a passport, passport card or other WHTI-compliant document for re-entry, read the current advisory first and plan to be back before the port closes.

Renting an RV for this trip? Compare rigs, prices, and pickup locations on RVshare and Outdoorsy — both let you filter by rig size, dates, and location.

San Diego: the mild-winter coast#

San Diego has the warmest winter nights in this guide, and the coast’s only real monthly RV inventory. It costs about twice what the desert does.

Campland on the Bay — Mission Bay#

The big, family-oriented resort on Mission Bay publishes a full extended-stay rate card. See our Campland on the Bay review and its park page.

  • Hookups: Full hookups (water, electric, sewer)
  • Cost: Extended stays (over 31 days) run September 8 to June 30, rates effective January 1, 2026: Standard $1,691 a month, Select $1,806, Preferred $2,013, Distinguished $2,274, Bay View $2,710, Beach Front $4,446. Seniors 65+ pay from $1,536
  • Booking: Weekly and extended stays by phone only, (858) 581-4200; first week’s rate as deposit
  • Best for: Snowbirds who want the water, the bike path and San Diego’s restaurants, and can pay coastal rent

Mission Bay RV Resort — De Anza Cove#

  • Cost: Extended stays September 8 to June 30 (rates effective January 1, 2026): Standard (unpaved) $1,550 a month, Premium $1,675, Preferred $1,950, Large Standard (unpaved) $2,030, Super Size $2,300, Bay View $2,530
  • Stay limit: “The maximum stay is 89 consecutive nights”; you must leave by noon on day 90 and may return the next afternoon on a new reservation
  • Occupancy: Two people included, four maximum; one week’s rate as deposit
  • Best for: A two- to three-month coastal stint

Read our Mission Bay RV Resort review or its park page for site details.

Santee Lakes Recreation Preserve — Santee#

Santee Lakes is a lakeside preserve in the inland suburb of Santee, east of San Diego, with 300 full-hookup sites. It is the coast’s best-value monthly option.

  • Cost: 2026 extended stay (30 nights), November–March: Standard back-in value $1,300, up to Deluxe pull-through scenic $1,700. April–October rates are $100 higher
  • Electric: $175 electric deposit on extended stays
  • Limits: “There is a 180-night maximum stay in the campground”; bookings open up to six months ahead. Staff inspect every unit, and RVs must carry RVIA or Department of Housing certification
  • Pets: Up to three dogs; $3 a night or $30 per extended stay
  • Best for: Snowbirds who want San Diego’s climate at the lowest published coastal monthly rate

The state beaches: not for a winter#

San Elijo, South Carlsbad and the other coastal state beaches are excellent for a week. California’s state-park regulation caps camping at 30 days per calendar year in a park unit. San Elijo allows 14 consecutive nights from December to February (7 nights from March to November), with 48 hours away before returning, and its hookup sites are limited to 24 feet. See our South Carlsbad State Beach review and the San Diego RV parks guide for coastal camping.

The Colorado River: Needles and Blythe#

Needles Marina Resort — Needles#

On the California bank of the Colorado River, Needles Marina publishes simple winter rates. Effective October 1 to May 1 (the page does not state the year):

  • Monthly: $525 plus electric, with a $75 utility deposit, $0.14 per kWh and a $38.28 basic meter-read charge
  • Weekly: $435 with electric included; nightly $77 with electric
  • Occupancy: Rates cover two people; extra people on monthly stays are $150 a month each
  • Waterfront: Five-month minimum in winter
  • This winter: “Only sites #2–112 are available this winter due to construction”
  • Hookups: Full, 30/50 amp; pets on a 6-foot leash, not in cabins
  • Best for: The lowest published monthly hookup rent in this guide, and boaters

Mayflower Regional Park — Blythe#

Riverside County’s riverfront park charges $30–$50 a night, with electricity at specific sites only, and has the same 14-days-in-28 limit as Lake Cahuilla. Use it for a short stop. The Midland LTVA north of town is the long-stay option.

Comparison: Southern California snowbird parks#

ParkAreaPublished priceMax stay or minimumStandout
Sky ValleyDesert Hot Springs$940–$1,648 per 30 nights (Jan–Mar)Monthly; multi-month discountsMineral pools, clear rate table
Sam’s Family SpaDesert Hot SpringsFrom $805/mo + electricRVs 15 years or newer for 30+ daysLowest valley rent, all ages
Emerald DesertPalm DesertFrom $139/night; monthly by request—Rigs to 65 ft, eight pickleball courts
Indian WellsIndioAnnual from $954/moAnnual agreement for that rateAll ages, 45-ft paved pads
TT Palm SpringsPalm DesertAnnual from $9,000—No membership needed
Outdoor ResortCathedral CityOwner lots ~$1,400–$3,900/mo + $25/dayRV age 15 yrs max, 24 ft minFull country-club resort
Motorcoach Country ClubIndioBooking engine2–31 nightsClass A only
The Springs at BorregoBorrego SpringsFrom $53/night; monthly by request—80-ft pull-throughs, golf
Borrego Palm CanyonAnza-Borrego$45/night hookup30 days per yearInside the state park
Fountain of YouthNiland6 months $4,950 + electricPay in full, non-refundable55+, mineral pools
Salton Sea SRASalton Sea$30/night hookup30 days per yearCheap state-park hookups
BLM LTVAsWinterhaven, Blythe$180 per seasonSept 15–Apr 15Cheapest winter, no hookups
Needles MarinaNeedles$525/mo + electric5-month min on waterfrontLowest hookup rent
Campland on the BaySan Diego$1,691–$4,446/moSept 8–June 30Beachfront on Mission Bay
Mission Bay RV ResortSan Diego$1,550–$2,530/mo89 consecutive nightsDe Anza Cove, bay-view sites
Santee LakesSantee$1,300–$1,700 per 30 nights180 nightsBest coastal-area value

How to plan a Southern California snowbird winter#

  1. Pick the stay type before the town. For a full November–April season, look at private resorts, Fountain of Youth or an LTVA. State parks, Riverside County parks and Mission Bay RV Resort all cap your stay, so they suit shorter stints.
  2. Price electricity honestly. Desert nights in the 40s mean heating, and almost every monthly rate here excludes power. Ask for the per-kWh rate, any meter fee (Needles charges $38.28) and the deposit.
  3. Check your rig against the rules. Sam’s and Outdoor Resort limit monthly or rental stays to RVs no more than 15 years old, Outdoor Resort requires at least 24 feet, Motorcoach Country Club is Class A only, Sky Valley’s Value sites are for small rigs, and San Elijo’s hookup sites stop at 24 feet. Big rigs should look at Emerald Desert’s 65-foot classes or The Springs at Borrego’s 80-foot pull-throughs.
  4. Read the cancellation and payment terms. Fountain of Youth’s specials are paid in full and non-refundable. The Springs at Borrego keeps a monthly deposit if you cancel within 45 days. Campland and Mission Bay take a week’s rate as a deposit.
  5. Plan around April in Indio. If you will be near the Empire Polo Club for Coachella (April 9–11 and 16–18, 2027) or Stagecoach (April 23–25), make sure your rate and site are locked.

For the rest of the region, see our Southern California RV parks guide, Southern California beach RV parks, Joshua Tree RV camping and the best RV parks in California. For how monthly costs add up, read cost of living in an RV park monthly. If you are still choosing a region, the Arizona snowbird guide and the Rio Grande Valley snowbird guide cover the two cheaper alternatives.

Facts checked October 26, 2026 against operator pages: Sky Valley Resort’s RV rate details (rates effective May 1, 2026–April 30, 2027); Sam’s Family Spa RV sites; Sunland RV Resorts’ Emerald Desert pages; Sun Outdoors’ Indian Wells long-term-stays page; Thousand Trails’ Palm Springs RV Resort page; Outdoor Resort Palm Springs’ rental regulations and for-rent-by-owner listings; Motorcoach Country Club’s FAQ; The Springs at Borrego’s RV sites and park policies; Fountain of Youth Spa’s rates; Rio Bend RV & Golf Resort’s rates; Needles Marina Resort’s rates and policies; Campland on the Bay’s camping-rates and extended-stays pages; Mission Bay RV Resort’s extended-stays page; and Santee Lakes’ campground pricing. Agency sources: California State Parks pages for Anza-Borrego and the Salton Sea SRA, San Elijo State Beach’s campground map (September 2025) and 14 CCR §4455; San Diego County Parks’ 2026 fee schedule; Riverside County Parks’ Lake Cahuilla and Mayflower pages; BLM’s Imperial Dam, Pilot Knob and Midland LTVA pages; CBP’s Andrade port page; and the US State Department’s Mexico travel advisory (May 29, 2026). Festival dates come from coachella.com and stagecoachfestival.com. Temperatures are NOAA NCEI 1991–2020 normals. Our per-month arithmetic, such as Sky Valley’s four-month figure, is our own calculation, not an operator quote.

Frequently asked questions

How much does a snowbird RV site cost per month in Southern California?

Published 2026–27 rates we checked on October 26, 2026 range from $525 a month plus electric at Needles Marina Resort on the Colorado River and $805 plus electric at Sam's Family Spa in Desert Hot Springs, through $940 to $1,648 for 30 nights in January to March at Sky Valley Resort, to $1,550 to $2,530 at Mission Bay RV Resort and $1,691 to $4,446 at Campland on the Bay in San Diego. Self-contained RVers can winter on a BLM long-term visitor area near Winterhaven or Blythe for $180 for the September 15 to April 15 season.

What are the best snowbird RV resorts in Southern California?

For hot mineral pools and published monthly rates, Sky Valley Resort and Sam's Family Spa in Desert Hot Springs. For a full resort in the Coachella Valley, Emerald Desert RV Resort in Palm Desert or Indian Wells RV Community in Indio. For a quiet desert town with golf and big-rig pull-throughs, The Springs at Borrego. For a 55+ community with a six-month package, Fountain of Youth Spa RV Resort near the Salton Sea. On the coast, Campland on the Bay, Mission Bay RV Resort and Santee Lakes publish extended-stay rates.

Can you stay all winter at a California state park campground?

No. California state park rules limit camping to 30 days per calendar year in a park unit, and individual parks set shorter limits. Anza-Borrego Desert State Park, including Borrego Palm Canyon Campground, allows 30 days per calendar year in total. San Elijo State Beach allows 14 consecutive nights from December to February and seven in March to November. Riverside County's Lake Cahuilla and Mayflower parks cap stays at 14 days in any 28. For a full winter, use a private resort or a BLM long-term visitor area.

Is electricity included in monthly RV rates in Southern California?

Usually not. Sky Valley, Sam's Family Spa, Fountain of Youth and Needles Marina all bill electricity on top of monthly rent, The Springs at Borrego meters electric on stays of seven nights or more, Indian Wells excludes electric from its annual fee, and Santee Lakes takes a $175 electric deposit on extended stays. Daily and weekly rates often include electricity, so compare monthly quotes with monthly quotes.

When do RV rates spike in the Coachella Valley?

During the April festival weekends at the Empire Polo Club in Indio. Coachella 2027 runs April 9–11 and April 16–18, and Stagecoach runs April 23–25, 2027. Resorts near Indio price those weekends separately, and Emerald Desert advertises Stagecoach weekend on its site. If your winter stay runs into April, check whether those dates are included in your monthly rate.

Is San Diego a good place to winter in an RV?

It is the mildest option but not the cheapest. Campland on the Bay publishes extended-stay rates from $1,691 a month for a standard full-hookup site (September 8 to June 30), Mission Bay RV Resort from $1,550 with an 89-consecutive-night maximum, and Santee Lakes Recreation Preserve from $1,300 for 30 nights from November to March with a 180-night maximum. Coastal state beaches limit stays and do not rent monthly.

Where can snowbirds boondock in Southern California?

The BLM long-term visitor areas are the main option. Imperial Dam and Pilot Knob near Winterhaven and Midland near Blythe sell a $180 long-term permit valid September 15 to April 15, or $40 for 14 days. Pilot Knob also offers an $80 four-week permit. Units must be fully self-contained at Midland. Confirm fees with BLM before arriving, because the agency has proposed raising LTVA fees.

Share this guide

Marisol Reyes

About the author

Marisol Reyes

Camping & Outdoors Editor

Marisol spent six years as an interpretive ranger in the California and Colorado state park systems before turning to writing full-time. She knows public-land camping from the inside — how reservation windows really work, why some loops fill before others, and which 'first-come, first-served' sites are worth gambling on.

More from Marisol →

Keep reading