Guide Quartzsite

Quartzsite RV Parks: 10 Hookup Parks, La Posa LTVA and Free BLM (2026–27)

Park-by-park guide to RV camping in Quartzsite, Arizona for the 2026–27 snowbird season: full-hookup parks with verified nightly, monthly and seasonal rates, the La Posa LTVA permit, the five free 14-day BLM areas, and the January 2027 show dates.

Marisol Reyes
Camping & Outdoors Editor
19 min read
Quartzsite RV Parks: 10 Hookup Parks, La Posa LTVA and Free BLM (2026–27)

Quartzsite is a town of about 3,700 people that turns into the biggest RV gathering in the country every January. Most visitors come for the free and nearly free desert, and our Arizona snowbird guide covers that side of Quartzsite in broad strokes. This page is the detailed version: every full-hookup park worth considering, with the 2026–27 nightly, monthly and seasonal rate each one actually publishes, plus the La Posa LTVA and the five free BLM areas with directions.

The single most useful thing to know about Quartzsite pricing is that January is its own season. The gem shows, the swap meets and the RV show all land in the second half of the month, and nearly every park adds a January surcharge. A site that costs $325 in November can cost $585 in January at the same park.

Verified September 22, 2026: Rates come from each operator’s own rate page: Arizona Sun, Quail Run, Holiday Palms, 88 Shades, The Scenic Road, Quartzsite RV Resort, Split Rail and Kofa Mountain. LTVA fees and facilities are from the BLM La Posa page. Site counts and rig lengths are from operator pages where published, otherwise from Campendium and Good Sam. Show dates are from the Quartzsite RV Show organizer. Where a park does not publish a number, we say “quoted live.”

Quick answer: The cheapest way to winter in Quartzsite is the La Posa LTVA south of town, $180 for the whole September 15 to April 15 season with water, dump and trash on site but no hookups. For full hookups, published monthly rates run $325–$750 plus metered electricity. The best-value hookup parks are Arizona Sun ($325/month, $585 in January, 6 months $1,750) and 88 Shades ($425/month, $1,595 for six months). Holiday Palms is the only resort-style option with a heated pool and hot tub. Quail Run is the pick for rigs up to 70 feet. Free camping is on five BLM areas with a 14-day limit.

Quartzsite RV parks at a glance#

CampgroundLocationHookups2026–27 nightlyMonthly (Jan)55+?Max rigTo town
Arizona Sun RV Park425 N Las PalomasFull, 30/50A$47 ($60 Jan) + tax$325 ($585) + electricNot stated60 ft drive-throughsIn town
Quail Run RV Park918 N Central BlvdFull, 30/50A$60–$70 (+$10 Jan)$575–$655 (higher) + electricNot stated70 ftIn town
Holiday Palms RV Resort355 W Main StFullFrom $65 (Nov–Apr)From $750 + electricNo, all agesBig-rig friendlyIn town
88 Shades RV Park575 W Main StFull$49 incl. electric$425 ($550) + electricNot statedQuoted liveIn town
The Scenic Road RV Park480 N Central BlvdFull, 20/30/50A$40 ($50 Jan)$400 ($650) + electricYes50–65 ft (listings differ)In town
Kofa Mountain RV Park170 N Central BlvdFull, 30/50A$37$375–$440 ($525)Listed 55-plusBig-rig friendlyIn town
Quartzsite RV ResortNear I-10Full, electric included$39–$81$650 Nov, $700 JanNot statedQuoted liveIn town
Split Rail RV Park1258 N Central BlvdFull$50$440 Oct–Feb + electricNot statedQuoted liveIn town
Rice Ranch North290 E Kuehn StFull, 50A / electric-only / dryQuoted liveQuoted liveNot statedQuoted liveWalk to Tyson Wells
Desert Gardens RV Park1240 Acacia RdFull, 30AQuoted liveQuoted liveListed 55+ on Campendium60 ft lotsEdge of town
La Posa LTVAUS-95, 2 mi southNone (water, dump)$40 per 14 days$180 per seasonNoUnlimited2 mi
BLM 14-day areasN, S, E, W of townNoneFreeFree (14 of 28 days)NoMost areas any size3–6 mi

Every private park above is inside Quartzsite’s small grid, within a few minutes’ drive of the show grounds. Which week you arrive matters more than which block you’re on, because January traffic on Main Street and Central Blvd is heavy during the shows.

Full-hookup RV parks in Quartzsite#

Arizona Sun RV ParkPark details →#

Arizona Sun is the value benchmark for Quartzsite. It is on Las Palomas Ave, a block from the town library and two blocks from the city park, with BLM desert across the street. The rate sheet is the most detailed in town and the long-stay pricing is hard to beat: six months costs $1,750 plus electricity, which works out to under $300 a month.

  • Hookups: Full, 30- and 50-amp, underground utilities
  • Sites: Count not published; short-term area has 32 x 60 ft drive-through sites
  • Cost: $47/night + tax ($60 in January); $200/week ($250 January); $325/month ($585 January) plus electricity at $0.20/kWh; 3 months $900 without January or $1,100 with it; 4 months $1,450; 5 months $1,650; 6 months $1,750; annual $2,400 + electric
  • Max RV length: About 60 ft on the drive-through sites
  • Reservations: Phone 928-927-5057
  • Season: Mainly October 1 to April 1 per Good Sam; annual sites and $300 summer storage available
  • Best for: Budget snowbirds who want hookups for three to six months

The amenities are practical rather than resort-grade: a 4,500 sq ft clubhouse with a big-screen TV and organized activities, laundry, showers and street lighting. Electricity is billed after five days, so short stays are all-in at the nightly rate. Good Sam scores it 9 for restrooms and 7 for facilities, which matches the general reputation: clean, plain and well run.

Quail Run RV ParkPark details →#

Quail Run is the park that answers the big-rig question. It has 167 full-hookup sites, 89 of them pull-throughs, on concrete patio pads, and Campendium lists a 70 ft maximum. It sits on the north side of Central Blvd and stays open through the summer.

  • Hookups: Full, 30/50-amp, free Wi-Fi
  • Sites: 167, including 89 pull-throughs
  • Cost: Winter (Oct 1–Mar 31) $60 standard / $65 deluxe / $70 premium per night, $10 more in January; monthly $575 / $625 / $655 (higher in January); 6 months $1,985–$2,180; summer (Apr 1–Sep 30) $45/night, $375/month; electricity $0.22/kWh on monthly and seasonal stays
  • Max RV length: 70 ft (Campendium)
  • Reservations: 928-927-8810; $100 non-refundable deposit within 7 days; cash or check only
  • Season: Year-round
  • Best for: Big rigs and anyone who wants a quiet, clean park with easy pull-throughs

Quail Run is not the cheapest park in town, and the most recent Campendium report was $75 a night in February 2026. What you pay for is level sites, well-kept restrooms and management that reviewers consistently describe as responsive. The one recurring complaint is that sites near the entrance road get traffic.

Holiday Palms RV ResortPark details →#

Holiday Palms is the closest thing Quartzsite has to a full RV resort. It has 244 full-hookup sites on paved streets, a heated pool and hot tub, pickleball courts, a rec hall with bingo and billiards, laundry, a self-serve car wash, an oil-change station and propane. It is on Main Street, a short walk from the show area.

  • Hookups: Full hookups on every site
  • Sites: 244
  • Cost: Peak (Nov 1–Apr 30) from $65/night, $390/week, $750/month; off-peak (May–Oct) from $45/night, $525/month; seasonal (Oct 1–May 31) 3 months $1,900, 5 months $2,400, 6 months $2,600; electricity and tax extra
  • Max RV length: Marketed as big-rig friendly; exact limit quoted live
  • Reservations: Online, 928-927-5666 or stay@holidaypalmsrv.com
  • Season: Year-round
  • Best for: Snowbirds who want a pool, pickleball and a busy social calendar

It is an all-age park and the most expensive of the established parks by a clear margin. For a winter base where you want amenities rather than just a pad, that premium buys something the cheaper parks don’t have. Good Sam rates the facilities 10/10.

88 Shades RV ParkPark details →#

88 Shades, a few blocks west on Main Street, is one of the largest parks in town. Directories list about 230 full-hookup sites. It is known for its community life: a rec hall with daily activities, shuffleboard, a library, a lapidary shop with weekly classes, Sunday church services, an RV wash, an oil-change station and propane.

  • Hookups: Full, with Wi-Fi and cable TV on monthly stays
  • Sites: About 230 per directory listings
  • Cost: $49/night + tax and $295/week, both including electricity; $425/month ($550 in January) plus electricity; snowbird rate $1,595 for any six consecutive months
  • Max RV length: Quoted live
  • Reservations: 928-927-6336; check-ins accepted 24 hours
  • Season: Year-round
  • Best for: Rockhounds and snowbirds who want organized activities at a mid-range price

The six-month snowbird rate is the draw: $1,595 is the lowest published half-year hookup price in town, although electricity is extra. There is a dog walk and a fenced off-leash area, which is uncommon here.

The Scenic Road RV ParkPark details →#

The Scenic Road is the best-known 55+ park in Quartzsite. It has about 97 sites (39 pull-throughs) with 20/30/50-amp service, and it is seasonal: the office says it reopens in October 2026 after the summer closure.

  • Hookups: Full, 20/30/50-amp
  • Sites: About 97, including 39 pull-throughs (Allstays)
  • Cost: $40/night, $275/week, $400/month (February–December); January $50/night, $345/week, $650/month; 3 months $1,045 without January or $1,350 with it; full season $1,530–$1,690 depending on site; electricity extra on monthly and longer stays at $0.22/kWh
  • Max RV length: Listings differ: AAA says 50 ft, Allstays 65 ft. Give your exact length when you book
  • Reservations: 928-927-6443; $100 non-refundable deposit within 7 days
  • Season: October through April
  • Best for: 55+ snowbirds who want a quiet, adults-only park

Fresh gravel keeps the dust down, which is noticeable in a town where dust is the main complaint. The three-month rate without January ($1,045) is the smart booking if you can leave for the busiest weeks.

Kofa Mountain RV ParkPark details →#

Kofa Mountain is a smaller 67-site park on Central Blvd with 30- and 50-amp hookups, an air-conditioned clubhouse with showers, laundry and a kitchen, and seasonal events such as monthly BBQs and pool and poker nights. It lists itself as a 55-plus park.

  • Hookups: Full, 30/50-amp, Wi-Fi
  • Sites: 67, limited pull-throughs
  • Cost: $37/night, $232/week; monthly $375 base, $440 November–December, $525 January, $410 February
  • Max RV length: Described as big-rig friendly; quoted live
  • Reservations: Phone; cash or check only, no credit cards
  • Season: Year-round
  • Best for: Couples who want a small park and one of the lowest January rates

The pet rules are unusually specific: dogs under 20 pounds use the front area and larger dogs a gravel area at the back. The park warns that coyotes come through after dark.

Quartzsite RV ResortPark details →#

This is a small 27-site park near I-10 with a clubhouse, and it is the only park in town that includes electricity in its monthly rate. That makes the headline number higher but the actual bill more predictable.

  • Hookups: Full, electricity included
  • Sites: 27
  • Cost: Nightly $39–$81.25 by season; monthly $450 (July–September), $500 October, $650 November, $675 December, $700 January, $650 February, $600 March; January 15–31 carries a 25% surcharge and a 7-night minimum; pets $0.50/night
  • Max RV length: Quoted live
  • Reservations: 626-244-5276 or qrvrllc@gmail.com
  • Season: Year-round
  • Best for: Short winter stays where you want a fixed, all-in price

Watch the January 15–31 rule. The weekly rate jumps to $437.50 and you must book at least seven nights, because those are the RV show weeks.

Split Rail RV ParkPark details →#

Split Rail sits at the north end of Central Blvd with easy off-road access to the Dome Rock trails. It rents side-by-sides, has mini golf and a rec room with a full kitchen, and has an on-site certified RV technician. It is under new management.

  • Hookups: Full, 30/50-amp; water and sewer included, electric billed separately
  • Sites: Count quoted live
  • Cost: $50/night, $220/week, $330/month, $440/month “prime” (October–February); annual $2,200 paid up front or $275/month
  • Max RV length: Quoted live
  • Reservations: 928-927-5296
  • Season: Year-round
  • Best for: UTV and ATV riders who want to ride from the site

Some directories call Split Rail an adult community, but its own site doesn’t mention an age rule, so ask. Its annual rate is the lowest year-round hookup price we found in Quartzsite.

Rice Ranch NorthPark details →#

Rice Ranch North is the park to book if you are coming for the shows rather than the season. It is on East Kuehn Street within walking distance of Tyson Wells, the Rock & Gem Show, the Big Tent and the RV show, and it rents vendor spaces as well as camping sites.

  • Hookups: Over 40 full-hookup sites with 50-amp, city water and sewer; 15–20 electric-only sites; dry camping
  • Sites: Roughly 60 hookup sites plus dry camping
  • Cost: Quoted live through the online booking page
  • Max RV length: Quoted live
  • Reservations: Online via the park’s booking link or 928-916-3895
  • Season: Year-round, busiest in January
  • Best for: Show-goers and vendors who want to leave the truck parked

Book January sites early. Being able to walk to Tyson Wells saves more time here than anything else in Quartzsite.

Desert Gardens RV ParkPark details →#

Desert Gardens is on Acacia Road at the edge of town, backing onto BLM land, so you can ride a UTV straight from your site to the trails. The park is promoting cheaper long-term leases this year, with discounts of 5% for two months, 10% for three and 15% for four or more.

  • Hookups: Full, 30-amp, Wi-Fi
  • Sites: About 270 per Campendium; lots are 30 x 60 ft pull-throughs
  • Cost: Quoted live; the last public report was $30/night (2023). Full payment at check-in, no refunds for leaving early
  • Max RV length: Lots are 60 ft long, but service is 30-amp only
  • Reservations: 928-916-2599 or online booking
  • Season: Year-round
  • Best for: Long-term stays on a budget with trail access

Campendium lists Desert Gardens as 55+, but the park’s own pages don’t mention an age rule. Reviews are few and mixed, and the strict no-refund policy is the main complaint. Walk the park before you commit to a season.

BLM camping around Quartzsite#

La Posa LTVAPark details →#

La Posa is 11,400 acres of flat desert on both sides of US-95, starting about two miles south of town. It is split into four areas: La Posa North, South, West and Tyson Wash. Unlike the free BLM land, it has services: 10 vault toilets, 8 water faucets, a dump station with water, a dry dump, trash collection, and a ramada with a dance floor.

  • Hookups: None; potable water and dump on site
  • Sites: Open desert, no marked sites
  • Cost: $180 long-term permit (September 15, 2026 to April 15, 2027, any length within that window); $40 short-visit permit for 14 consecutive days; off-season (April 16–September 14) $15/night or $75/year
  • Max RV length: No limit
  • Reservations: None; buy the permit at the host station on arrival
  • Season: September 15 to April 15
  • Best for: Self-contained rigs with solar that want to stay put all winter

The $180 permit is also valid at every other LTVA in Arizona and California, including Imperial Dam near Yuma. In 2024 the BLM Yuma Field Office proposed raising the fees to $600 long-term and $200 short-term. As of this week, the BLM’s La Posa page still lists $180 and $40, so that is the 2026–27 price unless the BLM publishes a change. Check the fee at the host station when you arrive. Non-self-contained units are allowed at La Posa, which is not true at most LTVAs.

Free 14-day BLM areas#

The BLM has five designated short-term camping areas around Quartzsite. Camping is free, with no permit, for up to 14 days in any 28-day period. After that, you must move to a new site more than 25 miles from your original campsite.

  • Hookups: None
  • Sites: Dispersed; pick any previously used spot
  • Cost: Free
  • Max RV length: Most areas take any size; the west end of Dome Rock and some washes at Scaddan need clearance
  • Reservations: None
  • Season: Year-round, busiest November–February
  • Best for: Two-week stays and anyone rotating between Quartzsite and Yuma or Ehrenberg

Where the five areas are:

  • Plomosa Road: North on US-95 to Plomosa Road, turn right, camp on either side. Flat and roomy.
  • Hi Jolly: About 3 miles north on US-95; turn right at mile marker 112. Flat, close to the free refuse station between mile markers 111 and 112.
  • Dome Rock Mountain: About 6 miles west; take I-10 west to the Dome Rock exit, then camp south of the interstate. Flat apart from the west end.
  • Scaddan Wash: About 3.5 miles east, south of the I-10 frontage road from the mile marker 19 exit. Some washes need clearance.
  • Road Runner: About 6 miles south on US-95 at mile marker 99, west of the highway between the gas line road and La Paz Valley Road.

The 14-day areas have no water or dump. For those, use La Posa (with a permit) or the private dump and fill stations in town, such as the Pit Stop. For the general rules on dispersed camping, see our BLM camping guide.

January 2027 in Quartzsite: show dates#

If you plan to be in town for the shows, these are the published dates:

  • Rubber Tramp Rendezvous: Women’s RTR January 6–8, RTR January 9–14, 2027. Free, run by Homes on Wheels Alliance on public land near town.
  • Quartzsite Sports, Vacation & RV Show (the Big Tent): January 15–23, 2027, 9 AM–4 PM daily, 700 S. Central Blvd.
  • Tyson Wells Sell-A-Rama: January 15–24, 2027, 9 AM–5 PM, Tyson Wells show grounds on W. Kuehn St.
  • QIA PowWow Gem & Mineral Show: January 20–24, 2027, 9 AM–5 PM, free, 235 E. Ironwood Ave.

The practical effect is that January 15–24 is peak demand. Parks raise rates (Quartzsite RV Resort adds 25% for January 15–31 alone), the BLM areas close to town fill, and dump-station lines at La Posa can run long. Arrive before January 10 if you want a choice of sites.

Booking the winter season#

Quartzsite parks book the same way they have for decades: by phone, with a deposit, and often with cash or check. Quail Run, Scenic Road and Kofa Mountain all take only cash or check, or require a non-refundable deposit within seven days. Long-time snowbirds rebook their site before they leave in spring, so the best-placed sites at the popular parks are gone by summer. For a first season, call in August or September, ask which sites are open for the full season, and be flexible about January.

Three-month bookings that leave out January are the best value in town. Arizona Sun charges $900 for three months without January and $1,100 with it. Scenic Road charges $1,045 and $1,350. If you want to see the shows, a common plan is to stay at a park November through early January, then move to La Posa on a $40 short-visit permit for the show weeks.

Monthly vs nightly: the real math#

A monthly or seasonal rate almost always wins after about 10 nights. At Arizona Sun, 30 nights at $47 plus tax is about $1,600, against $325 plus electricity for the month. The catch is electricity. At $0.20–$0.22/kWh, every 300 kWh you use adds $60–$66 to the month, and a rig running an electric heater on cold January nights or two AC units in late March uses power fast. Quartzsite RV Resort and 88 Shades’ nightly and weekly rates include power, so compare the all-in figure, not the headline number. For how this compares with other long-stay markets, see our best monthly RV parks guide.

Summer rates and heat#

Quartzsite empties from May to September for a reason: daytime highs regularly pass 110°F. Parks that stay open cut prices sharply. Quail Run is $375 a month from April 1 and Holiday Palms from $525 a month from May 1. Arizona Sun offers $300 summer storage if you leave your rig. If you stay, you need a working AC unit (two for anything over about 35 feet), shade covers, and a plan for power outages. Scenic Road closes entirely for the summer.

55+ rules#

Only a few Quartzsite parks are age-restricted, and the listings aren’t always consistent. The Scenic Road is 55+. Kofa Mountain lists itself as 55-plus. Campendium tags Desert Gardens as 55+, but the park doesn’t state it. Holiday Palms says it is an all-age resort, and Arizona Sun, Quail Run and 88 Shades publish no age rule. Ask how the rule is applied (often it is one occupant per site), because age rules can change when a park is sold.

Where Quartzsite fits in an Arizona winter#

Quartzsite works best as a stop on a winter loop rather than the whole winter, unless you love the desert. The usual pattern is a few weeks in Quartzsite, then south to Yuma or east to Phoenix and Scottsdale and Tucson, where there are more services, hospitals and full-service resorts. For the statewide picture, see our best RV parks in Arizona, the Arizona snowbird guide and the national snowbird RV parks guide. If you’re new to boondocking at La Posa or the 14-day areas, read our boondocking tips for beginners first. Everything else we cover in the state is on the Arizona hub.

Frequently asked questions

How much does an RV park in Quartzsite cost per month?

For the 2026–27 winter, published monthly rates at Quartzsite full-hookup parks run from $325 (Arizona Sun, outside January) to about $750 (Holiday Palms, peak season), usually plus metered electricity at $0.20 to $0.22 per kWh. Almost every park charges more for January: Arizona Sun goes from $325 to $585, Scenic Road from $400 to $650, 88 Shades from $425 to $550.

How much is the La Posa LTVA permit for 2026–27?

The BLM lists the long-term permit at $180, valid September 15, 2026 to April 15, 2027 at every LTVA in Arizona and California, and a short-visit permit at $40 for 14 consecutive days. A 2024 BLM proposal to raise these to $600 and $200 has not been applied to the published fee table, but confirm at the La Posa host station when you buy.

Where can you camp for free in Quartzsite?

The BLM runs five designated free 14-day camping areas around town: Plomosa Road and Hi Jolly north of town off US-95, Dome Rock Mountain west off I-10, Scaddan Wash east along the I-10 frontage road, and Road Runner south on US-95 near mile marker 99. You can stay 14 days in any 28-day period, then must move more than 25 miles.

When is the Quartzsite RV show in 2027?

The Quartzsite Sports, Vacation & RV Show (the Big Tent) runs January 15–23, 2027, 9 AM to 4 PM daily, at 700 S. Central Blvd. The Tyson Wells Sell-A-Rama runs January 15–24 and the QIA PowWow gem and mineral show January 20–24, so the second half of January is the busiest and most expensive stretch of the year.

Are there 55+ RV parks in Quartzsite?

Yes. The Scenic Road RV Park on N. Central Blvd is listed as a 55+ park and is open October to April, and Kofa Mountain RV Park lists itself as 55-plus. Holiday Palms is explicitly all-ages; most other parks publish no age rule. Age rules change with ownership, so ask when you book.

Which Quartzsite RV parks are open in summer?

Quail Run, Holiday Palms, 88 Shades, Split Rail, Kofa Mountain and Quartzsite RV Resort all publish summer or off-peak rates, typically $375 to $525 a month. The Scenic Road closes from May to September. Expect daytime highs above 105°F from June through September.

Which Quartzsite RV park is best for big rigs?

Quail Run RV Park lists 167 full-hookup sites, 89 of them pull-throughs, with room for rigs up to 70 feet per Campendium. Holiday Palms (244 full-hookup sites, paved streets) is also marketed as big-rig friendly, and Arizona Sun's short-term drive-through sites measure 32 by 60 feet.

Share this guide

Marisol Reyes

About the author

Marisol Reyes

Camping & Outdoors Editor

Marisol spent six years as an interpretive ranger in the California and Colorado state park systems before turning to writing full-time. She knows public-land camping from the inside — how reservation windows really work, why some loops fill before others, and which 'first-come, first-served' sites are worth gambling on.

More from Marisol →

Keep reading